Jupiter 3 Science Fiction Books australia

Login to enhance your shopping experience.

Login or Create an Account
free post
Online Store Menu
Quick Store Search

Advanced Search
Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

The Accidental Time Machine - Joe Haldeman - NEW

scroll to the bottom to add to cart
The Accidental Time Machine - Joe Haldeman - NEW

Joe Haldeman - The Accidental Time Machine - NEW Novel

Other Joe Haldeman Science Fiction Books click here

Grad- school dropout Matt Fuller is toiling as a lowly research assistant at MIT when he inadvertently creates a time machine. With a dead-end job and a girlfriend who left him for another man, Matt has nothing to lose in taking a time-machine trip himself-or so he thinks.


Grad-school dropout Matt Fuller is toiling as a lowly research assistant at MIT when, while measuring quantum relationships between gravity and light, his calibrator disappears - and reappears, one second later. In fact, every time Matt hits the reset button, the machine goes missing twelve times longer.

After tinkering with the calibrator, Matt is convinced that what he has in his possession is a time machine. And by simply attaching a metal box to it, he learns to send things through time - including a pet-store turtle, which comes back no worse for wear.

With a dead-end job and girlfriend who has left him for another man, Matt has nothing to lose by taking a time-machine trip himself. So he borrows an old car, stocks it with food and water, and ends up in the near future - under arrest for the murder of the car's original owner, who dropped dead after seeing Matt disappear before his eyes. The only way to beat the rap is to keep time traveling until he finds a place in time safe enough to stop for good. But such a place may not exist...

About the Author

Joe William Haldeman is an American science fiction author. Haldeman was born 09. June 1943 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. His family traveled and he lived in Puerto Rico, New Orleans, Washington, D.C., Bethesda, Maryland and Anchorage, Alaska as a child. Haldeman married Mary Gay Potter, known as "Gay", in 1965. He received a bachelor of science degree in astronomy from the University of Maryland in 1967. That same year he was drafted into the Army and served as a combat engineer in Vietnam. He was wounded in combat and his wartime experience was the inspiration for War Year, his first novel. In 1975, he received a MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop. He currently resides in Gainesville, Florida and Cambridge, Massachusetts and teaches writing at MIT. In addition to being an award-winning writer, Haldeman is a painter.

Haldeman's most famous novel is The Forever War, inspired by his Vietnam experiences, which won both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. He later turned it into a series. Haldeman also wrote two of the earliest original novels based on the 1960s Star Trek TV series universe, Planet of Judgment (August 1977) and World Without End (February 1979). In October 2008 it was announced that Ridley Scott will direct a feature film based on The Forever War for Fox. He has served twice as president of the Science Fiction Writers of America and is currently an adjunct professor teaching writing at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

It's not as widely known that Haldeman has written at least one produced Hollywood movie script. The film, a low-budget science fiction film called Robot Jox, was released in 1990. He was not entirely happy with the product. Haldeman has one many major awards for his various works, and these include: The Hugo Award, 5 times for The Forever War (1976) Novel, Tricentennial (1977) - Short Story, The Hemingway Hoax (1991) Novella, "None So Blind" (1995) - Short Story, Forever Peace (1998) Novel. The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, once for Forever Peace (1998). The Nebula Award five times, for The Forever War (1975) Novel, The Hemingway Hoax (1990) Novella, "Graves" (1993) - Short Story, Forever Peace (1998) Novel and Camouflage (2004) Novel. The Rhysling Award three times, for "Saul's Death" (1984) - Long Poem, "Eighteen Years Old, October Eleventh" (1991) - Short Poem and "January Fires" (2001) - Long Poem. The World Fantasy Award once, for "Graves" (1993) - Short Fiction. and The James Tiptree, Jr. Award once , for "Camouflage" (2004).

Haldeman is the brother of Jack C. Haldeman II (1941-2002), also a science-fiction author whose work included an original Star Trek novel (Perry's Planet, February 1980). Haldeman has written numerous works, which include: War Year (1972) , Attar's Revenge (1975) - written under the pseudonym Robert Graham , War of Nerves (1975) - written under the pseudonym Robert Graham , The Forever War (1975) , Mindbridge (1976) , Study War No More (1977) - a collection of short stories by various science fiction authors, edited by Joe Haldeman and featuring two stories by him , Planet of Judgement (1977) - a Star Trek novel , All My Sins Remembered (1977) , Infinite Dreams (1978) - short story collection , World Without End (1979) - a Star Trek novel , Worlds (1981) - first volume in "Worlds" trilogy , There is No Darkness (1983) - cowritten with Jack C. Haldeman II , Worlds Apart (1983) - second volume in "Worlds" trilogy , Dealing in Futures (1985) - short story collection , Seasons (novella, 1985) - published in Alien Stars, Elizabeth Mitchell, ed. , Tool of the Trade (1987) , Buying Time (1989) - published in the UK as The Long Habit of Living , The Hemingway Hoax (1990) , Worlds Enough and Time (1992) - third volume in "Worlds" trilogy , Vietnam and Other Alien Worlds (1993) - collection of short stories, essays and poetry. , 1968 (1995) , None So Blind (1996) - short story collection , Forever Peace (1997) , Saul's Death and Other Poems (1997) - poetry chapbook , Forever Free (1999) , The Coming (2000) , Best Military Science Fiction of the 20th Century (2001) - as editor , Guardian (2002) , Camouflage (2004) , Old Twentieth (2005) , War Stories (2006) - short story collection , A Separate War and Other Stories (2006) - short story collection (title story directly linked to The Forever War) , The Accidental Time Machine (2007), and Marsbound (2008).

Joe Haldeman - The Accidental Time Machine - NEW Novel



In stock

All required fields are marked with a star (*). Click the 'Add To Cart' button at the bottom of this form to proceed.

Item Quantity

Enter the appropriate quantity for this item below.

Account Menu
Popular Pages

Science Fiction Books delivered to New South Wales (NSW) Queensland (Qld) Victoria (Vic) South Australia (SA) Western Australia (WA) Northern Territory (NT) Auctralian Capital Territorty (ACT) Norfolk Island .Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Canberra Perth Adelaide Geelong Bendigo Albury-Wodonga Wollongong Central Coast Newcastle Port Macquarie Coffs Harbour Northern Rivers Gold Coast Towoomba Sunshine Coast Wide Bay Capricorn Coast Mackay Townsville Cairns Hobart and Launceston Darwin.